Skip to content

Mice Herding

April 15, 2012

IMG_0606

For a while now I have been muttering dire threats at the cats for their penchant for bringing in mice to play with later.

IMG_0605

Of course I don’t begrudge them their toys, it’s just I would prefer them to play with the ones I’ve provided at vast expense and with due thought. The trouble is they don’t believe the threats and carry on with their own simple pleasures.

It’s bad enough when you find a mouse lurking behind a storage box in the bedroom and two adults and a cat spend the best part of an hour in pursuit before cornering it and putting it outside. But much worse is when you have a guest for dinner, for the first time, and there’s three adults and two cats reeling round the dining room after a very athletic, possibly Olympic standard, mouse.

IMG_0572

The cats actually seemed pleased we were getting in the spirit of things. Now I’ve got a sneaky feeling they’re bringing more mice as a treat for us as we seem to join in the hunting game with such enthusiasm.

Don’t get me wrong,the cats don’t totally underperform, they do kill mice but I’m a fair-weather cat owner who can deal with the corpse when I tread on it but can’t bear to watch the mice being tormented. They are dear little things when they aren’t living behind my kitchen cupboards or unimpressing guests.

The upside is I can put traps in the cupboard where I won’t accidentally take off a cat’s nose. The downside is that  I have to open it in the morning and I may have caught something. So far there’s been the no bait, trap unsprung, no mouse then trap sprung, bait still attached, no mouse and traps totally ignored. It’s quite a relief really.

IMG_0575

But rabbits are a different kettle of mammals altogether.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

